Badminton Manitoba to Host 2020 Yonex National Championships


Badminton Manitoba to Host 2020 Yonex National Championships

For the first time ever, Para-badminton will be hosted at the Canadian National Championships!

Badminton Canada is pleased to announce Manitoba Badminton, Prairie Badminton and the Winnipeg Winter Club as hosts for the 2020 Yonex Canadian National Badminton Championships this winter! 

Traditonally the Championship welcomes over 100 of Canada’s top High-Performance athletes from accross the country. However, the 2020 Nationals will mark an historic moment for badminton in Canada as Para-badminton will be included with able-bodied for the first time! 

"We are trilled to include para-badminton to our National Championships this year" said Joe Morissette, Executive Director of Badminton Canada. "As an organization we are focused upon making our sport more inclusive, and this is an important step in that direction. I am confident that Manitoba Badminton will host and execptional event for our athletes in the lead up to the Olympic and Paralympic Games in Tokyo."

Reigning national champions like, Brian Yang (MS), Jason Ho-Shue & Nyl Yakura (MD), Kristen Tsai  & Rachel Honderich (WD), Joshua Hurlburt-Yu & Josephine Wu (XD), and top 10 in the world Michelle Li (WS) will be joined by Parapan Am Games medalists Olivia Meier (SL4), Pascal Lapointe (SL4), Yuka Chokyu (WH1), and Richard Peter (WH1) & Bernard Lapointe (WH2). 

"We are excited that all of our Olympic and Paralympic hopefuls will be competing together at this year's Championships" said Jordan Bridal, High Performance Director. "The tournament will act as a great lead up event for some, and showcase our top talent in Canada. For those unfamiliar with para-badminton, they will be amazed by what these athletes can do!"

The main hosts for the 2020 Yonex Canadian National Championships will be Prairie Badminton, with the Winnipeg Winter Club acting as supporting hosts for the WH1/WH2 events. Winnipeg, Manitoba - get ready for the action from January 29th to February 1st 2020!

« Back