XXI Pan American Badminton Championships


XXI Pan American Badminton Championships

Canada dominates the podium at the 2017 XXI Pan American Badminton Championships in Cuba, April 27-30

Ottawa, Ontario - The XXI Pan American Badminton Championships took place last week (April 27-30) in Havana, Cuba with 11 countries competing from across the Americas. Canadian athletes displayed an exemplary performance throughout the tournament capturing the Gold medal in 4 out of 5 events, along with placing 7 entries in the Championship finals.

Leading the medal podium was Canadian, Rachel Honderich, claiming the Championship Title in Women’s singles by edging out teammate Brittney Tam in the final. Honderich would go on to win the Mixed Doubles title with veteran partner Toby Ng, once again beating Brittney Tam and her partner Nyl Yakura, giving Honderich two gold medals, and Tam two silvers in the tournament.

Nyl Yakura would get his turn to claim the Championship title in the Men’s Doubles category with partner Jason Ho-Shue, defeating the other Canadian duo Austin Bauer and Ty Lindeman, to once again giving Canada the top 2 finish.

Michelle Tong and teammate Josephine Wu also claimed the gold medal in the Women’s Doubles category after defeating teams from Peru in both the Semi-finals, and the National Championship match. Partners Ann-Julie Beaulieu and Stephanie Pakenham also had strong performances throughout the weekend and finished in the 3/4 position after a close match in the Semi-Finals.

“The performances last weekend was a great showing from our Canadian athletes” said High-Performance Manager, Jordan Bridal. “Placing at the top of the podium is always something to be proud of. Doing so in almost every category certainly gives a confidence boost heading into Sudirman Cup at the end of the month.”

It is clear that Badminton Canada has built momentum this past season, and looks to continue the international success in upcoming events. For all results relating to the XXI Pan American Badminton Championships 2017, please follow the link below:


Tournament Winners:

Mens Singles:

1. Ygor Coelho (BRZ)

2. Osleni Guerrero (CUBA)

3/4. Leodannis Martinez (CUBA)

3/4. Bjorn Seguin (USA)


Womens Singles:

1. Rachel Honderich (CAN)

2. Brittney Tam (CAN)

3/4. Jamie Subandhi (USA)

3/4. Marina Ugalde (MEX)


Mens Doubles:

1. Jason Ho-Shue + Nyl Yakura (CAN)

2. Austin Jame Bauer + Ty Alexande Lindeman (CAN)

3/4. Mario Cuba + Diego Mini (PER)

3/4. Ruben Castellanos + Anibal Marroquin (ARG)


Womens Doubles:

1. Michelle Tong + Josephine Wu (CAN)

2. Daniela Macias + Danica Nishimura (PER)

3/4. Anne-Julie Beaulieu + Stephanie Pakenham (CAN)

3/4. Paula La Torre Re + Daniela Zapata (PER)


Mixed Doubles:

1. Toby Ng + Rachel Honderich (CAN)

2. Nyl Yakura + Brittany Tam (CAN)

3/4. Lino Munoz + Cynthia Gonzalez (MEX)

3/4. Mario Cuba + Katherine Winder (PER)

« Back