2020-21 YONEX Para-badminton National Team Announced!


2020-21 YONEX Para-badminton National Team Announced!

Badminton Canada is pleased to announce the 2020-21 YONEX Para-badminton National Team lead by Head Coach Frank Gaudet


With 9 athletes from across the country representing Canada at the highest level of para-badminton, Badminton Canada is trilled with the development of our Para-badminton programs over the past few years. With goals set for return to competition and the upcoming 2021 Paralympics in Tokyo, Japan, Badminton Canada is committed to supporting our athletes in the pursuit of international excellence.

The team is lead by newly appointed National Team Head Coach, Frank Gaudet. Gaudet joins the team with extensive experience coaching para-badminton at the highest levels, including leading the team at the 2019 Para-badminton World Championships and the 2019 Para-Pan American Games.

“I am honored to have been chosen as head coach for Canada’s Badminton Para National Badminton team” said Gaudet, “we focus on the athletes’ athletic ability, not disability. I believe coaching an athlete with a disability is the same as coaching able-bodied athletes.  It takes knowledge, passion and understanding the athlete’s individual talent in order to help them achieve their goals.”

All athletes will be supported by YONEX Canada, the official sponsor of the 2021-20 Para-badminton National Team. Each athlete will receive all the quality high-performance gear needed to train and compete at their best. From top of the line performance racquets, to shoes and Team Canada track suits, YONEX Canada wants our athletes to reach their highest potential.

“YONEX Canada has been a tremendous partner for all of our events and high-performance programs” said Executive Director, Joe Morissette. “Our para-badminton program is still very young, but we are impressed with the talent and potential of all our athletes. We know that they will continue to represent our country proudly on the international stage.”

2020-21 YONEX Para-badminton National Team Athletes:

Name Province Club Sport Class
Yuka Chokyu BC Vancouver Lawn Tennis & Badmintion Club WH1
Duc Goi ON Badminton Birds SL3
Justin Kendrick ON Lions Badminton Club SS6
Bernard Lapointe NB NB South East WH2
Pascal Lapointe QC Club International Montreal SL4
Wyatt Lightfoot SK Cross Court Badminton Club SS6
Olivia Meier MB Winnipeg Winter Club SL4/SU5
Richard Peter BC Vancouver Lawn Tennis & Badminton Club WH1
William Roussy QC Les Dragons de L'Ecole Antoine-Bernard SL3


« Back